Geosciences

Welcome to the Geosciences Library Guide. This LibGuide is intended to support the coursework and research needs of students enrolled in a history course or program. 

QC, QE, and S  are the letters assigned by the Library of Congress classification system for books and other resources in Geosciences. 

The following letters are assigned to specific Geosciences subject areas.

• QC Physics
• QE Geology
• S Agriculture

Helpful Databases

Library Catalog

The Library Catalog is an index to the library’s books and audiovisual materials. You may search the catalog from any computer with Internet access. The online card catalog can be searched in a variety of ways most notability by TITLE, AUTHOR, SUBJECT, and KEYWORD.

Reference Books (located in the library’s reference section)

The library carries an extensive collection of reference titles related to geosciences. Please visit the reference section or consult with a librarian for more information. 

Career Information - Want to work in Geoscience?

Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Outlook for Geoscientists

• Geological Survey Database

  The Geological Surveys Database includes more than 20,000 publications from participating state geological surveys, and factsheets from the USGS. The database provides full-text searching of all of its publications

• National Centers for Environmental Information

  NCEI hosts and provides public access to one of the most significant archives for environmental data on Earth.

• The American Geosciences Institute 
  The Institute provides information services to geoscientists, serves as a voice of shared interests in our profession, plays a major role in strengthening geoscience education, and strives to increase public awareness of the vital role the geosciences play in society’s use of resources, resilience to natural hazards, and the health of the environment.