English Research Guide

Provides original, authoritative reports on newsworthy social and political issues. Covers topics in public policy, law, civil liberties, international affairs, economics, health, education, the environment, technology, and more.

Includes 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and reference handbooks. A good starting point for research.

Provides access to a variety of premier literary databases offering up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 150,000 writers in all disciplines

HBR covers a wide range of topics that are relevant to various industries, management functions, and geographic locations. These include leadership, negotiation, strategy, operations, marketing, and finance. HBR is published six times a year.

Provides access to academic journals, magazines, and other resources.

Offers access to hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context—an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.

This database includes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors.

Live news, investigations, opinion, photos and video by the journalists of The New York Times from more than 150 countries around the world. Must be logged in through the SSO before accessing The NYT.

Accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium.

Popular Culture Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.

Scribner Writers Series provides original, scholar signed essays on the lives and works of authors from around the world from all time periods. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author and their works in personal and historical context.

Provides general full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, government documents and Web sites. (Use a browser other than Internet Explorer for this database.)

A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Full text of one of America's most widely known encyclopedias. A good starting point for research of any topic.

Provides access to a variety of databases that range from general reference collections to subject-specific. EBSCOhost offers the ability to search specific databases or search by subject area to access multiple databases simultaneously.

JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Access more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.