Political Science/Government

A guide to the principles, structure, processes and functions of the Federal government of the United States.

J is  the letter assigned by the LIbrary of Congress classification system for books and other resources in Political Science. 

The following letters are assigned to specific Political Science subject areas.

• JC Political theory. Imperialism, monarchy, aristocracy, democracy, fascism, dictatorships, individual rights
• JF Constitutional history
• JS Local government
• JV Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration
• JX International law and relations

Helpful Databases

Library Catalog

The Library Catalog is an index to the library’s books and audiovisual materials. You may search the catalog from any computer with Internet access. The online card catalog can be searched in a variety of ways most notability by TITLE, AUTHOR, SUBJECT, and KEYWORD.

Reference Books (located in the library’s reference section)

• The Almanac of American Politics (REF JK1012 A44)
  Provides information on federal and some state elected officials including election results.
• The Complete Book of U.S. Presidents (REF E176.1 D43)
  Provides biographical information on the U.S. presidents from George Washington to George Bush.
• Oklahoma Almanac (REF JK7131 O54)
  Oklahoma state government.
• United States Government Manual (REF JK421 A3)
  The official handbook of the Federal Government. Provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches.

• Abbreviations & Acronyms of the U.S. Government: GovSpeak

  See more than 500 acronyms used within the American government.

• Globemaster Dictionary

  A database with more than 15,000 abbreviations, acronyms, and aircraft designations of all military branches.

• Law, Government, and Political Science from Internet Public Library

  180 websites with annotations compiled in one directory.

• Statistical Abstract of the United States - 2012

  Statistics collected by U.S. federal and state agencies.