Rose State College Library Policies

The primary goal of the Library is to support, through its collection of materials and its services, the philosophy and functions of the institution set forth by the Board of Regents of Rose State College. In its selection of materials, the Library will uphold the principles of the American Library Association's Bill of Rights and the Freedom to Read Statement. The ultimate responsibility for the selection of materials lies with the Director, Library Services. The librarians are responsible for review and purchase of materials on an on-going basis.

Responsibility

Materials will be chosen from a variety of selection tools. Requests and suggestions for consideration of materials from the faculty, staff, students, and community members are encouraged

General Policy

Both print and non-print Materials are selected primarily to support the curriculum of Rose State College; to support the informational, cultural, and recreational needs of the faculty, staff, and students; and to support the informational, cultural, and recreational needs of the community. Materials are selected for their quality, timeliness, and importance to the balance of the collection. The merit of a controversial item will be determined by consideration of the whole work, not of selected or random excerpts. Every attempt will be made to provide materials reflecting a variety of viewpoints.

Children's collection

A collection of children's materials will be maintained to support the academic programs. A comprehensive collection of children's materials will not be maintained, since this service is adequately provided within the community. Children's materials will be selected by the same criteria as other library materials: quality and timeliness.

Periodicals

Periodicals are purchased in print and/or online format to provide the most current information available in subject areas. The periodicals provide material not available elsewhere and supplement the book collection. Periodicals will be purchased for use as supplemental tools for the curriculum, as professional tools for book review and selection, and for general interest. Factors affecting the selection of periodicals will include relevance to the curriculum, quality, format, accessibility, and price.

Library Gift policy

Gift materials will be accepted by the Library with the following stipulations:

(1) Delivery. Materials must be delivered to the Library Director.

(2) Letters of acknowledgment. Letters of acknowledgement will be written and maintained for those leaving contact information.

(3) Assumption of responsibility. The College will not appraise or assume any responsibility for determining the value of material donations.

(4) Addition of materials. The College may or may not choose to add gift materials to the collection. Gifts will be added under the same collection policy as for purchased materials, based on such factors as curriculum-related, currency, lasting-value, authority, and objectivity.

Withdrawal of materials.(Weeding)

Material review is a continual process. Withdrawals will be made using these criteria: worn out or damaged through use; no longer timely; no longer accurate or relevant to the curriculum; duplicate copies no longer in demand; and changing focus of the collection.

The purpose of the Weeding Policy is to provide guidelines for the removal of materials from the collection in an academic library. Weeding is an essential component of collection management, as it ensures that the collection remains relevant, up-to-date, and in good condition. This policy is intended to guide the library staff in making informed decisions on the removal of library materials.

Objectives The objectives of the Weeding Policy are to:

1. Ensure that the collection remains relevant and up-to-date to support the academic community's research, teaching, and learning needs.
2. Maintain the collection in good condition to ensure its longevity and usability.
3. Optimize space utilization to accommodate new materials and the changing needs of the academic community.
4. Enhance the accessibility and discoverability of the collection by removing outdated or irrelevant materials.

Criteria for Weeding The library staff will use the following criteria to evaluate materials for removal from the collection:

1. Obsolescence: Materials that are outdated, inaccurate, or no longer relevant to the academic community's research, teaching, and learning needs will be removed from the collection.
2. Physical condition: Materials that are damaged, deteriorating, or no longer usable will be removed from the collection.
3. Duplication: Materials that are duplicated in the collection or available through other sources will be removed, with the exception of highly used or rare materials.
4. Usage: Materials that have not been used for an extended period or have low usage statistics will be evaluated for removal from the collection.
5. Availability: Materials that are no longer available through publishers or vendors will be evaluated for removal from the collection.

Weeding Procedures The following procedures will be followed when weeding materials from the collection:

1. Evaluation: The library staff will conduct regular evaluations of the collection to identify materials for weeding.
2. Notification: The library staff will notify the appropriate subject librarians, department heads, or faculty members of the materials that are being considered for weeding.
3. Consultation: The library staff will consult with subject librarians, department heads, or faculty members to ensure that the materials being considered for weeding are not needed for current or future research, teaching, or learning needs.
4. Disposal: The library staff will dispose of the weeded materials in an appropriate manner, such as recycling, donation, or sale.
5. Record-keeping: The library staff will maintain records of the weeding process, including the materials removed, the reasons for removal, and the disposal method.

Objections to materials.

In the event that a member of the student body, faculty, or staff objects to material in the Library, a form is available to request a staff review of material. The form, completed and signed, will be reviewed by the Library Director and the Collection Development Team. All decisions of the Library Director and the Collection Development Team are subject to appeal through normal administrative channels.