Need help locating special resources? Get help here for finding those elusive resources. Here's some online tutorials to walk you through the research process.
Analyzing Sources Tutorial
Analyzing Your Sources
A research paper is only as good as the sources that have been used. How can you tell if your sources in your works cited page are good sources? You can always evaluate a review article on its own merit. Ask these three questions:
Is the article presenting a new thought?
Is it well supported?
Does it make sense?
However, beginning students in any field may not know enough about the subject to know if the present article is reliable. Here are some basic techniques that can help determine the quality of your source.
Did you find your source in a database?
Databases like like EBSCOhost, InfoTrac, etc., are primarily indexes to articles in magazines and newspapers. Especially journal articles, and to a degree, magazine and newspaper articles, have sometimes gone though a great deal more editing and review than ones you may find on the web.
What journal is it in--Studies in Short Fiction (a literary journal), or People Magazine (a popular magazine)? If you’re not sure of the kind of journal something is, you have several routes to identify it:
Click on the title of the JOURNAL. In EBSCOhost, you’ll get brief information about who publishes it, and what kind of journal it is.
If you are using something besides EBSCOHost (like InfoTrac) that doesn't describe the journal for you, any of the following books at the LRC will give you brief information about the scope of the journal, whether or not it is a scholarly or peer reviewed journal, and where it is indexed: (Call us (733-7543) or email us (refdesk@rose.edu)…we’d be glad to look for you.)
Magazines for Libraries--Call Number: REF Z6941 .M23 13th ed
Ulrich’s International Periodicals Directory--Call Number: REF Z6941 .U5
The Serials Directory--Call Number: REF Z6941 .S46
The Author:
What can you tell about the author? Sometimes articles will list the university affiliation or employer of the author. Does your article?
(Some journals, like Studies in Short Fiction, have that information about the author in a separate notice at the front or back of the journal. EBSCOhost, unfortunately, doesn't currently show the full text of that author notice. You'd have to go to the print or microfilm edition of the periodical to see it.)
Have they written other articles on the same or similar topics? (Search their name in some of the EBSCOhost databases. This isn’t as hard as it might sound. EBSCO has made the author’s name a link, so all you have to do is click on it. If the name is not a link, then do an advanced search for the author's name in the Text field:
Have they written other articles?
Are they on the same topic? (If the other articles are all from the same journal or magazine, the author may be a staff writer who writes on lots of topics, and may not be as authoritative as someone whose life work is to study that particular topic. )
What is your author’s primary work? Is the author affiliated with a university or college? Sometimes you can go onto the web site of the university, find the author in a faculty directory, and then find his or her web page. Sometimes, you’ll find a résumé that gives you a good idea of the author’s background.
Have they written books on your topic or on a related topic? You can also search Books in Print to find out about other books the author of the article has written. You may also search the Library of Congress authorities file. (An authority record is a tool used by librarians to establish forms of names for persons, places, meetings, and organizations. If a person is listed here, then it means at least one item from this author has been received by the Library of Congress. You may also get some additional information, like the years of birth and death of the author, the institution with which a living author is connected, and maybe a title.)
Look at the article. Are there citations to other articles listed? If an article includes a bibliography or list of works cited, it usually means the author has put more thought into his article by including or paying attention to the thoughts of others. These additional citations may give you further sources to consider, too.
Is this article, or the author of this article, cited in other articles about this topic? A citation index is most helpful in determining this, but we don’t have this at RSC. If your author is cited by other authors, it’s a good indication that his or her article has some ideas in it that other people have paid attention to, either positively or negatively. Two well known citation indexes are the Social Sciences Citation index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. (There’s often a citation index for every field.) You won’t usually find those at a community college, but larger colleges, like OU and OSU both should have them.
Did you find the article on the web?
Who is the author? Sometimes you have to search the website to find an author’s name. If you’re lucky, the author’s name may be at the beginning or end of your article. Otherwise you’ll have to look around. You may find it under copyright information on the home page, or under an “About this site” notice. Take a look at the very good site below. The author is Donna Campbell. But you don't find that anywhere on the page. Look at the address. If you erase enl311/litfram.html from the web address, and then press enter, you'll be taken to an intermediate page, which tells you that Donna Campbell is no longer at Gonzaga University, but at Washington State University.
Here's the new page: Down at the very bottom, you'll find an "About This Site" that gives you a much more complete look at who Donna M. Campbell is:
Now you find out that Donna M. Campbell is a tenured associate professor at the University of Washington, and these are, for the most part, her class materials, and probably a fairly authoritative source for you to use.
Is more information given than just the name?
Other books? If you have the name of a book the person has written, that may lead you to other information. You can check Books in Print to find out about other books your website author has written. Books in Print also includes a limited number of reviews which may tell you what others in the field think of your website author’s work.
Other articles? Check online databases like EBSCOhost to find out if the author has written anything else.
Other web sites?Although you can check the Web for the person’s name, you have to be careful with this, because there are so many people with the same names. It may be more helpful to find pages that link to the page of your website author. (In fact, that's one of the algorithms that Google uses in it's search engine--figuring that more websites linking to a page represent a more relevant page.) In some search engines (Google and AltaVista for sure) you can type:
link:URLtext
to find all the pages that link to your page. Example:
link: www.rose.edu
in Google will give you all the pages that Google has found that link to Rose State’s page. If there are lots of other links to your page, you can get a clue to how well that site is known, and how other people think of it.
The author's job? If the website author is linked to a university, then you can check the university faculty directory for a resumé of your author.
What is the domain of your site? It may not be easy to determine if the purpose of your site is propaganda, sales, opinion, facts, etc. Knowing something about the domain can help you make some decisions about the purpose.
.COM is a commercial site: You’ll find here lots of personal sites, and sites that are trying to make a profit. While this information may still be good, you have to evaluate it more carefully. You'll also find newspapers and television stations here, and their resulting articles.
.EDU is an accredited postsecondary institution site: Lots of faculty have good, reliable information here, but you may also find a student site here. Pay close attention to the author information!
.GOV is a site maintained by the U.S government: Reliable place to get the government’s perspective.
.ORG is a non commercial site. You'll find a lot of advocacy sites here.
For more information about top-level domains, and what they represent, visit the Internet Assigned Numbers Authority, particularly the Root Zone Database, that will identify country and generic top level domains.
Other issues related to discovering the authority of your site:
Does your website article include references?
Are there spelling or grammatical errors in your site?
Do the links on the site lead to other quality sites?
Other Considerations:
Do the links work?
How current is the page, i.e. has it been updated lately?
Do you think the site will be there next time you try to visit it?
For more information about how to determine the quality of a website, visit the following links:
OhioState's Net Tutor--Evaluating Web Sites
Cornell’s Evaluating Resources
Created by Melissa Huffman copyright Rose State College 2013
Show Less
Birthdate Assignment
Step 1: Pick an event that happened on or around your birthdate. (This counts as your first source!)
If you were born after November 1981 -- use The Daily Oklahoman* at NewsBank.*
Click on NewsBank*, and then click on Oklahoman, The.
Click on the Custom Date button, then type your date in the box beside it, and press search. (See the example below.)
2. If you were born before 1981, use the Historical New York Times*.
Click on the title, ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times.
Click on the radio button at the Date Range, and enter your birthday in the format indicated (mm/dd/yyyy) and then
Click the Search button.
You'll see a list of articles that appeared in that date's paper.
3. OR use This Day in History from the History Channel website. You will type your birthdate in the box provided, and click "GO". This Day In History will highlight one event from that date, and list all the other events from that date in categories on the left of the page.
4. Another alternative is to come to the Rose State College Learning Resources Center to use the microfilm of The Daily Oklahoman. We have the microfilm for The Daily Oklahoman back to 1903. You would look at microfilm to see the paper for the day of your birth. Ask at the reference desk for help!
Step 2 -- Find additional articles (at least 3 more) on your topic
Use EbscoHost*. If you need help using EBSCOhost, either use this linked tutorial (thee minutes), or visit the reference librarian on the LRC first floor, call us at 733-7543, or email us at refdesk@rose.edu.
Use SIRS Knowledge*.
*This source can be used from home with your RSC login: When logging into the databases from off-campus, students enter on the name line:
your2initialsyourstudentid (network log-in)
Example: name AZ1234567 password 01011980 (your birthday in eight digits MMDDYYYY)
Show Less
Computer Information Technology Management Resources
Starting Points:
EBSCOhost (Start with Business Resources and Business Source Elite)
Library Catalog (No ID/password needed.)
CIT Resource Links from the RSC LRC
Web Links:
BRINT
"Premier network for leading edge thinking on business, technology & knowledge management forums, articles, magazines, events, resources, analyses and news."
Workplace Issues Today
Created and maintained by reference librarians at the Catherwood Library at Cornell University's School of Industrial and Labor Relations, Workplace Issues Today (WIT) is a daily compilation of three or four key news articles from major English language periodicals. Published on weekday mornings, WIT offers excellent coverage of important workplace and labor relations stories; recent issues have included articles on workers' compensation, job offer deliberation, and paid vacation time in Europe.
The Information Economy
The Economics of the Internet, Information Goods, Intellectual Property and Related Issues . Compiled by Hal R. Varian, from the School of Information Management and Systems at the University of California at Berkeley.
Network Computing
Articles of interest in the areas of networks, security, servers & peripherals, etc.
TechWeb
Information Technology news items, and resource centers on data managment, systems management, security, storage, outsourcing, etc.
EduCause Topics Browse
Educause Resource Type Browse
an international repository for information about managing and using information resources in higher education. Resources include campus documents, such as policies, RFPs, and strategic plans, conference papers, articles from EDUCAUSE publications, and useful Web resources. Many items are available electronically.
Last Ditch Effort: the Business Periodicals Index
Show Less
Composition I - Kim Halpern
Drama Orientation
Create Your Login You must activate your login to the databases by first logging in to a computer on campus:
This link is for those who learn best by reading.
This link is for those who learn better by seeing and hearing.
Pick either, or both.
If you cannot get to campus to create the first login, please call 733-7543 for help.
Once you have established your login, you may click on any of the databases here to use it. You'll be prompted for your login screen, as in the image below, before you can continue to the specific database. (If you are not prompted for this login, you will probably be at one of the "open to anyone" sites at the beginning of the page.)
Find magazine or journal articles
We have two primary options for finding periodical (magazine and journal) articles online. You may want to use both.
EBSCOhost
InfoTrac
After you have looked at these, you will realize that:
they both have search boxes,
they both return results as lists of articles,
they both have their own print commands to make best use of paper and ink, and
they both give you an MLA citation!
If you recognize that, then you'll be able to figure out just about any database that you use.
Find Books in the LRC
he Library Catalog at the Learning Resources Center is much like any other library catalog. You can search this catalog for books, electronic books, video recordings, audio recordings, and more. Here is the direct link to the catalog: Library Catalog. You can open that link in a new window and follow along, if you'd like.
Here is how you do a subject search. A subject search is probably a good way to start any search. When you're searching for Drama Criticism, you'll look for the author's name as the subjec. So, from the Basic Search, choose the Subject tab, and type, for example, Hansberry, Lorraine in the search box.
You'll get a list subjects for Lorraine Hansberry. You can see that there are 2 titles for the subheading criticism and interpretation, but there are 3 for the subheading Raisin in the Sun. Both of those would have good resources for your paper.
In the image below, you can see the 3 title records. The green check mark indicates that the first one is available on the shelf on the 2nd floor. It can be checked out for 3 weeks, with your student ID.
The second one is an electronic book, and
the third one is a sound recording of a lecture about Raisin in the Sun. (Sound recordings don't check out, but you can listen to them in the LRC.)
[List of Titles for Hansberry, Lorraine--Raisin in the Sun]
Find electronic books through netLibrary
Rose State has two sources of electronic books. You can find them both on the Online databases page. We have access to ebooks through EBSCOhost and Springer ebooks. Although you cannot download the books for a book reader or an mp3 player with EBSCO (you can with the Springer ebooks), you can view the book online, and print or copy from it.
(This is a great resource for those 2:00 a.m. people!)
Your access to the EBSCO ebooks comes in two ways. You can find the books on the RSC Library Catalog, or you can go directly to them through EBSCOhost.
You must have logged in to the network on campus once before your user id and password are active for the databases. CALL us at 733-7543 -- we can help with that if you haven't done that first on campus login.
Going through the Library Catalog, you can search for ebooks in the same way you search for print books.
Click on the title of the book (underlined in blue) and then click on the link at the Bibliographic Record Display.
(While you can search the library catalog with out being logged in to the network, once you click on the link for the ebook, you will be prompted for a user ID and password.)
Once you find a book, you can browse through it either by the table of contents on the left or bottom, and/or the ebook Full Text link on the left. ( Because you are in EBSCO, you can also click on Cite on the right menu to get the citation you need.)
Using EBSCOhost to find books
If you are familiar with using EBSCOhost for finding magazine articles, you will find books exactly the same way. Just make sure you choose the Ebooks link.
Search for the book by typing either the title or keywords into the search box and press search.
Choose the book you want from the list, and follow the above instructions for viewing it.
Be aware that you are only able to print/save 60 pages out of book due to copyright issues.
Find Literature Reference Books
Literary Reference Materials
Check to see if we have already done some of the research for you. Look at the list of Literary Authors to see if your author is listed. For example, A Raisin in the Sun, is by Lorraine Hansberry, and she IS one of the authors listed. When you look at that list, you will see that books by and about her are at the call number given at the top of the page. These are books you can check out, so if you want them, you will need to come to the library to use them.
You can also see that author page lists lots of other resources about her. You do not necessarily need to look at all of them. For drama, the ones you might start with are
REF PN 44 M33 Masterplots. (if you have not already done this through MagillOnLiteraturePlus.)
REF PR 625 C74 Critical Survey of Drama. (This is also available through MagillOnLiterature Plus.)
REF PR 625 D7 Drama Criticism.
Critical Survey of Drama is also an easy place to get quick information. This is a collection of essays about the work of individual authors, so you look for the volume corresponding to the author's last name. These essays analyze the author's work as a whole. There might be several paragraphs about the work you are considering, or there might be nothing specifically about your work. But do not despair if your author is there, but there's nothing about the play you are doing. You can still use the source, especially if there are themes or styles that are discussed in the essay that the author commonly uses, and you think that the author uses similar themes or styles in the work you're discussing. Connecting what the author does in one play or story with what she or he does in another play or story can lend weight and authority to your paper.
Drama Criticism
Drama Criticism is another source to go for information. It is an excellent resource for you. If you learn to use Drama Criticism, it will open the door to several other sources that are arranged just like Drama Criticism. (Short Story Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth Centurey Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, etc.)
Gale, the publisher, has made searching all of these very easy to do. From the LRC Online Databases, click on Gale Literary Index, in the top row of the first table.
Click on the Title search. You will get the page below. In the search box, type your title, and click the middle radio button "match all words entered."
Click on the link to Raisin in the Sun, and you will get the following page. The red arrows point to some of the main Gale titles in the LRC.
Drama Criticism is not available online; so to use it, you will have to come to the LRC.
The listing above says that A Raisin in the Sun is discussed in Drama Criticism volume 2, pages 241-43, 246-247, etc. If you cannot find your title in the title search, you can go to the Author Search, and find other sources discuss your author. Here is the list of other Gale sources, and the abbreviations you will find in the author index, and the call number for the ones the Rose State College Library has.
A Guide to Literary Series by Gale Research in the LRC Reference Area
(First Floor)
(We do NOT have the following series: AAYA, CABS, CDALB, CDBLB, DLBY, HW, MAICYA, MTCW, SAAS, SATA, WLC, and YABC. )
BLC REF PS153 N5 B556 Black Literature Criticism
BW REF PN490 B53 Black Writers
CA REF Z1224 C6 Contemporary Authors First Revision Volumes
CAAS REF PN453 C63 Contemporary Authors Autobiography Series
CANR REF Z1224 C65 Contemporary Authors New Revision Series
CAP REF Z1224 C59 Contemporary Authors Permanent Series
CLC REF PN771 C59 Contemporary Literary Criticism
CLR REF PN1009 A1 C5139 Children's Literature Review
(We only have volumes 1-3)
CMLC REF PN610 C5 Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism
DC REF PR625 D7 Drama Criticism
DLB REF PN466 L57 Dictionary of Literary Biography
DLBD REF PN466 L575 Dictionary of Literary Biography: Documentary Series
LC REF PN86 L53 Literature Criticism From 1400 to 1800
NCLC REF PN761 N5 Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
NNAL REF PS508 I5 N38 Native North American Literature
PC REF PR502 P6 Poetry Criticism
SSC REF PN3321 S5 Short Story Criticism
TCLC REF 771 T8 Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
The Drama Criticism set (and in fact, most of the Gale Research sets) consists of a short introduction to the author being considered, and then a series of essays, excerpts from books, etc., critically examining the work of the author. Most of these essays appeared as articles in periodicals beginning from the time the author first published the work until the time the Gale volume was published. In the case of authors older than the 20th Century, this means the articles evaluating their works often appeared in older journals than we have in the LRC (like journals from th 1940s or 1950s, or from the 1800s! But they are reproduced in these Gale series, so that gives you easy access to opinions across time. The Gale series are GREATresources for your paper!
You do have to be careful when you cite from Drama Criticism.
The blue highlighted area tells you something about the person who is writing this particular essay. You can use this information to help introduce a quotation you might use from this essay, and you can also use it to help you evaluate what you read.
Citing Drama Criticism
The yellow highlighted area at the bottom of the article gives you the information you'll use for your citation. You need to make sure you find this information for every essay/article that you use from Drama Criticism. The format of the citation is a bit tricky, because you're quoting from an article/essay that has been reprinted somewhere else...in this case, in Drama Criticism.
The MLA guide will give you examples of how these sources are cited.
You get this information from the end of the article, and from the title page of the volume.
Cite what you have found
Interactive Citation Web Sites
The following links provide fill-in-the-blank options for formatting Sources Cited pages.
EasyBib.com - Only MLA cites are free.
Knight Cite - Includes APA, Chicago and MLA citations.
MLA Citation Center
NoodleTools - Requires a free personal log-in.
Biblobouts is a classroom game on citations.
Check the online databases. Many of them print and save citations in various citation formats.
Word 2007 and 2010 have a Bibliography and Work Cited Tool. References and Citations in Word 2007 Tutorial
Library Research Tips - Additional Citation Links
Citation Styles - Example of how to cite MLA, APA, and Chicago styles.
APA Formatting and Style Guide and APA Youtube Video Series from Purdue's Online Writing Guide.
APA Exposed - Online tutorial from Harvard College
Learn APA Style Tutorials
MLA Formatting and Style Guide and MLA Youtube Video Series from Purdue's Online Writing Guide.
Show Less
History Online Orientation
You may access ALL these databases from home, without additional passwords, IF you have created your network login on campus first.
Step 1
Using the RSC home page, click on Learning Resources Center page. Click on online databases. Choose Encyclopedia Britannica. Type in your topic. Print off the entry and attach. Be sure to use the complete entry and not just the abstract.
Example: Harlem Renaissance
Step 2
Answer the following basic questions regarding your topic:
Time Period:
Persons involved:
What field of history does this fall under? Social, political, economic, cultural, military, etc?
Region?
Step 3
Keyword Search: List as many different keywords that describe your topic to help with your search in the library, on the computers, and the Internet. For example, if you were assigned Margaret Sanger, some of your keywords would be (1) Margaret Sanger, (2) Sanger, Margaret, (3) Planned Parenthood, (4) birth control (5) women and history and nursing. At least 10 other choices exist. If you need help with your keywords, let either the Instructor or the librarian know, and they will help you.
Step 4
First Search: FirstSearch is a search engine specifically designed to look up books and collections held by public libraries. You will need to use your network password to use this online database. See the network password information at Step 1. Click on the First Search icon at the LRC online database. Using your keywords from step 3, search for books concerning your topic. First Search is rather quirky so pay attention to details. Find the best five sources for your topic and list below. Print off the single best source you find.
Step 5
Online book search: One quick way to see what books are published about your subject is to search one of the online bookstores. Using the power of the internet, log on and go to either Amazon or Barnes and Noble. Use their search engines to find books about your topic. Print off a list and attach.
Step 6
Library Search: Using the sources you have already found, go to the library and search the RSC catalog for books about your subject. Check off those books that can be found in the RSC Library on your list by marking them with a **. Also do a keyword search and see if you find any new sources. Find at least four books that deal with your topic specifically and two that are more general. For example, if your subject is about landing a man on the moon, you might find biographies of the astronauts or books dealing with the American space program. Your general subject books could include a history of the 1960s or about Cold War policy that includes the space race. List your books available at the RSC library.
Step 7
Interlibrary Loan: Now compare the lists with the books you found in the RSC library. Pick one not available at RSC and fill out an interlibrary loan slip and attach it. You get the form from the librarian on the first floor. If you plan to actually use the book for research, go ahead and order it through interlibrary loan and write the citation for the book below.
Step 8
Bibliographies and indexes: Go to the shelves and pull the books you have found. Check the index and see if your topic is listed. Look for a bibliography or footnotes in the back of your books. Do they list other sources you might find useful? Copy off a few pages from a bibliography, footnotes, or source list and attach it. Check the shelves for other books that might also have some information on your topic. List any other books you found on this search.
Step 9
EBSCO Computer Search: Go to the library and use one of the "ROSIE" computers that is linked to a printer. Using your keyword searches and search for your topic. How many hits do you have?
List the articles, NOT BOOK REVIEWS, that best fit your subject. You can do this by "marking" the abstract and printing the list. If you want to do this by hand, you must include title of the article, journal, date published, page numbers, and authors if possible. Find an abstract dealing with your subject, double click on it to read the article. Write a short synopsis of this article. Be certain that the article is about your subject and not one where your topic is only mentioned.
Choosing another article, print it off and attach. Try to pick one that is not longer than 5 or 6 pages to not waste paper. Write the citation for your article below.
Step 10
Internet (2nd floor-Audio/Visual): Using your keyword search words, search the web to find sites about your topic. One quick way is to use Yahoo or Alta Vista and type in history; all their web sites are linked together. Also try the Library of Congress. List the addresses of five web sites and their titles. Be sure to copy them correctly. Print off one article from one of your Internet sites.
Step 11: InfoTrac: is no longer available.
Step 12: Facts on File: (LRC online database)/ Search for your topic here. Be sure you try the various search categories they have. Print off one result from each one.
Step 13: NewsBank: NewsBank is a collection of over 500 national newspapers. Do Not Use the Daily Oklahoman or the Tulsa World unless you have a topic pertaining to Oklahoma history. Print off a list of the 5 best articles regarding your topic.
Step 14: EthnicNewsWatch: This is for topics in ethnic history, such as, African-American or Native American. Search this engine for your topic. Print off one article.
If you need help finding your resources, we'll be glad to help. Contact the librarian at any of the 3 ways below:
Stop by the reference desk by the computers on the first floor of the LRC
call 405-733-7543
Go to Ask a Librarian
Show Less
Help with Microsoft Office
Office 2010 & 2013
Access, Excel, and Word Tutorials www.youtube.com/user/599CD#g/u
Microsoft's Free Office 2010 & 2013 Tutorial Articles, Training Courses and Videos.(requires free Microsoft Silverlight)
Access 2010 & 2013
GCFLearnFree's Access 2010 and 2013 Tutorials www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLpQQipWcxwt_wVDqitDXqzh6iO1AMh2dz
599CD's Access Tutorials www.youtube.com/user/599CD#grid/user/786DE4C6D5244B47
Excel 2010 & 2013
Excel 2013 Tutorials from GCFLearnFree Playlist www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLpQQipWcxwt_7KKPzPuw0Re86-WeWe9Gc
Excel 2010 Beginner Tutorials Playlist www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLA315AFCD23B50347
PowerPoint 2010 & 2013
GCFLearnFree's PowerPoint 2013 tutorial playlist http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLpQQipWcxwt80GgHQBPtO7fZrH7zgb-kH
GCFLearnFree's PowerPoint 2010 tutorials
http://www.youtube.com/user/gcflearnfree#grid/user/7DA7D9B2E6DB921C
PeakDavid is a university professor who has made a series of tutorials called the secrets of professional presentations. The tutorials primarily cover animations.
Video 1 Video 2 Video 3 Video 4 Video 5 Video 6
Word 2013
GCFLearnFree's Word 2013 Tutorial Playlist
http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLpQQipWcxwt_E_071Lff_CWb4mVWeTEf9
How to type Spanish Letters and Accents on a PC or Mac http://www.spanishdict.com/answers/100808/how-to-type-spanish-letters-and-accents-#.U5nLF7HN6wY
Word 2007 & Word 2010
MLA essay format in Word 2010 Tutorial - Check to make sure your instructor's guidelines are not different.
Note: Word 2007 tutorials work in Word 2010.
Word Interface-Introduction
Part 01 of 13. Complete Microsoft Word 2007 Basic Level 1 tutorial from WordLearningZone.com. In this lesson: Starting Word, Parts of the Word Interface, Ribbon Changes with Window Size, Title Bar, Maximize, Minimize, Restore Down, Close Button, Office Button.
http://www.youtube.com/user/599CD#p/u/20/Y07aFiqI6qQ
Word Interface-Ribbon
Part 02 of 13. Complete Microsoft Word 2007 Basic Level 1 tutorial from WordLearningZone.com. In this lesson: The Ribbon, Ribbon Tabs, Groups, Buttons, Help Popup Menus for Each Command, Command Buttons, Drop-Down Menus, Command Button Groups, Galleries, Dialog Box Launcher Buttons http://www.youtube.com/user/599CD#p/u/19/c7pRb2Sy1zo
Word Interface-QAT (Quick Access Toolbar)
status, insertion point, views and more Part 03 of 13. Microsoft Word 2007 Basic Level 1 tutorial from WordLearningZone.com. In this lesson: Quick Access Toolbar, Status Bar, Views Buttons, Zoom Controls, Scroll Bars, Document Area, Mouse Pointer, Insertion Point (Cursor), Moving the Cursor http://www.youtube.com/user/599CD#p/u/18/tW1as0d4D7M
Enter Text
Part 04 of 13. Complete Microsoft Word 2007 Basic Level 1 tutorial from WordLearningZone.com. In this lesson: Writing a Business Letter, Spell Check on the Fly, Ignore Misspelling, Word Wrap, Correct a Misspelling, Spelling Suggestions, Press ENTER only at end of Paragraph http://www.youtube.com/user/599CD#p/u/17/pRbZWM0f4pE
Enter Text 2
Part 05 of 13. Complete Microsoft Word 2007 Basic Level 1 tutorial from WordLearningZone.com. In this lesson: Tab Key to Indent Paragraph, Wrong Word Form: (to, too, two), Grammar Check on the Fly, Backspace v. Delete Key, Keyboard Shortcut: END Key http://www.youtube.com/user/599CD#p/u/16/EtU2sxBnWAY
Editing Text 1
Part 06 of 13. Complete Microsoft Word 2007 Basic Level 1 tutorial from WordLearningZone.com. In this lesson: Splitting a Large Paragraph, Show Hide Paragraph Symbols, Hard Return, Making Two Paragraphs into One http://www.youtube.com/user/599CD#p/u/15/3MjyOWWNmGg
Editing Text 2
Part 07 of 13. Complete Microsoft Word 2007 Basic Level 1 tutorial from WordLearningZone.com. In this lesson: Creating a Bulleted List, Adding Words to Custom Dictionary, Letter Closing http://www.youtube.com/user/599CD#p/u/14/6M4UWzedJ4U
Editing Text 3
Part 08 of 13. Complete Microsoft Word 2007 Basic Level 1 tutorial from WordLearningZone.com. In this lesson: To & From Addresses at Top of Letter, Insert Blank Lines at Top of Document, Up and Down Arrow Keys, Inserting a Line Break with Shift-Enter, Return Address, Insert a Horizontal Line with -----Spelling Ignore v. Ignore All. http://www.youtube.com/user/599CD#p/u/13/kGwIOqF53Bc
Formatting Text
Part 09 of 13. Complete Microsoft Word 2007 Basic Level 1 tutorial from WordLearningZone.com. In this lesson: Select Mouse, Floating Bold Italics, Align Text Right, Center Text, with Ribbon, Live Preview, using Mini Toolbar, Size, Grow and Shrink Buttons, Changing the Font Color http://www.youtube.com/user/599CD#p/u/36/r7sLSEQ9-4s
ClipBoard
Part 10 of 13. Complete Microsoft Word 2007 Basic Level 1 tutorial from WordLearningZone.com. In this lesson: Cut, Copy, and Paste, Copy Text to the Clipboard, Paste Text from the Clipboard, Difference Between Cut and Copy, Undo and Redo. http://www.youtube.com/user/599CD#p/u/12/m2j4YHqVBaE
Saving and Loading
Part 11 of 13. Complete Microsoft Word 2007 Basic Level 1 tutorial from WordLearningZone.com. In this lesson: Saving Your Document, Save Button on Quick Access Toolbar, Close Word and Reopen Your Document, Recent Documents List, Open Button, Favorite Links - Documents, Select and Type Over Text, Save As a Copy. http://www.youtube.com/user/599CD#p/u/11/5fBPkxYChLg
Printing
Part 12 of 13. Complete Microsoft Word 2007 Basic Level 1 tutorial from WordLearningZone.com. In this lesson: Office Print, Print Dialog Box, Selecting Your Printer, Page Range: All, Current Page, 1-10, Number of Copies, Quick Print, Print Preview, Send Document via Email http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iN5dV3V9Z6E
Section Breaks and Page Numbering
In this tutorial, you'll see how to set up page numbering using section breaks. The benefit is that you can have different sets of page numbers, or start your numbering on a page other than P1.http://www.youtube.com/user/599CD#p/u/44/E1WtKR6FDM4
Paragraph Formatting
This tutorial is lesson 5 of 11 in my Word 2007 Basics Level 3 course. You will learn: indenting the left and right side of your paragraphs, and spacing before and after a paragraph. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xJ6snkGTc0I
More Links
Intro to Word 2007
(menus/ribbons/the Office Button, etc.) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iUrdtpvWeJQ
Formatting Text
(fonts, cut, copy, paste, format painter) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xKileG2njB4
Insert Chart
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJ7Dza-Wo7o
Inserting Clip Art
http://www.youtube.com/user/SchoolFreeware#p/c/02AF9B0FAABF3A04/11/WKXDtUr4Ne8
Saving files
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5fBPkxYChLg
Harrah Photoman Tabs
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0TAqlglhzyI
Changing Normal Style
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IDEtcFe0sE8
Insert picture or clipart
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MD59_jROy-8&feature=autoplay&list=ULSYbmgHjThk4&index=3&playnext=1
Fonts
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2CaLmNeJ2lQ&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL
Future Works Career Center Videos Set
Tabs using Ruler or Dialogue Box
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=exTkpUZqHMI
Formatting using Styles and Themes
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tZEf9tfeuh4&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL
Demo Trainer
http://www.youtube.com/user/DemoTrainer#g/u
Headers & Footers 1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BJZsq4MIv68&feature=related
Headers & Footers 2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=reOP_q_0vaI&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL
Headers & Footers 3
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1DJKxuxlEkk&feature=BF&list=ULRg1kMUdXMIs&index=2
Show Less
Finding Primary Sources
Persuasive Tutorial
Getting Started
Have you logged in on campus this semester? Here is how to create your own login.
Do you need books? Here is a link to the Library Catalog.
Do you need magazine, journal or newspaper articles? Try some of these databases at Online Databases (EBSCOhost and SIRS Knowledge are the most popular).
Do you need to cite what you have found? Look at these citation helps.
Create Your Login
You must activate your login to the databases by first logging in to a computer on campus.
If you cannot get to campus to create the first login,
please call 733-7543 for help.
Once you have established your login, you may click on any of the online databases to use it. You will be prompted for your login screen, as in the image below, before you can continue to the specific database. (If you are not prompted for this login, you will probably be at one of the "open to anyone" sites at the beginning of the page.)
Magazines and Journals
The LRC has several different options for finding periodical (magazine and journal) articles online. You may want to use all four.
EBSCOhost
SIRS
CQ Reseacher
Facts on File
After you have looked at these, you will realize they all have search boxes, they all return results as lists of articles, they all have their own print commands to make best use of paper and ink, and they all give you an MLA citation! If you recognize that, then you will be able to figure out just about any database that you use.
Show Less
Short Story Online Orientation
The best starting point for your essay may be a mix of online and print resources.
Step One
We usually suggest that you start your research online by looking at MagillOnLiteraturePlus through EBSCOhost. This database consists of a number of electronic versions of sources (books) that the LRC also has in it's print collection, especially the Critical Survey series and the MasterPlot series.
If you find an essay that comes from MasterPlots in your search, you'll be getting an essay that summarizes the story line, themes and meanings commonly found in the work, and styles and techniques the author uses.
I like MasterPlots, especially if I'm having any difficulty
keeping the characters straight,
understanding the story, novel or play,
figuring out what to write about
identifying themes that might be found in the play.
It's a quick, easy-to-read overview of the basics you need to know about the work.
You can get to MagillOnLiterarturePlus by:
Going to the Rose State Web Page
Click on Online Databases
Click on EBSCOhost.
If you are off campus, you'll need to log in with your network login and password. (You must have logged in once on campus each semester to activate your ID. If you've not been on campus, call us at 733-7543, and we can do it for you.)
[the entry screen to Ebsco (Magill is at the bottom)]
(If you click on EBSCOhost Web, MagillonLiteraturePlus will be in alphabetical order with the other databases. If you click on Literature Databases, MagillOnLiterature will be 2nd link.)
[Click on the blue title for MagillOnLiterature]
Once you've clicked on MagillOnLiterature, you'll see the screen below.
Let's say that you're looking for information about the play, "A Raisin in the Sun" by Lorraine Hansbury. Type "Raisin in the Sun" in the find box, and you'll see the following screen.
There were 17 articles about "A Raisin in the Sun." Some of them are from MasterPlots, and some are from other sources like Critical Survey of Drama. By clicking on either the Title link or the "Full Text" link, you'll get the to the same document, just different places in the document. The Title link will take you to the beginning of the document where you can see the citation, the Full Text link will take you to the place in the document where the article actually begins. At either place you can scroll up or down to see the additional information.
You may print, email, or save the document from the full text view of the screen. OR you may add it to your folder and print several things at once. To get a clean copy, you need to make sure you use the print, email or save commands on EBSCO. [Notice the Print, Email and Save options]
If you've added items to your folder (by clicking the ADD icon), you may view, print, email, or save all of them at once, by click on the Folder has items button. [On the result list, add items to your folder, and view the folder.]
Once you click Folder has items, you'll see an intermediate screen where you can review your list, remove ones you don't want, and continue to print, email, or save the others. [The intermediate screen where you may review your chosen items.]
You'll get a second intermediate box that gives you a few other options. Just click Print. [Just click the Print box to print.]
Finally, you'll see the clean copy for printing, with the number of pages estimated, with a pop-up print window. You can go ahead and click print (again) to get a clean copy of your article. (If you just want a certain section of an article, click Cancel. Highlight the section you want by dragging your mouse over it, then click Print on your browser. Make sure SELECTION is chosen in the PAGE RANGE section of the Print Box.) [print window]
We've spent a lot of time describing this process because MagillOnLiterature Plus is one of many databases you can use when searching EBSCOhost. Each database is searched in the same way, so if you can use one of them (like MagillOnLiterature Plus), then the technique is the same for any of the other EBSCOhost databases, like MasterFILE Premier, or Academic Search Premier.
In fact, you'll need the other databases to find additional information. In the other databases, Academic Search Premier, you may find literary magazines which discuss your play in more detail, or other types of magazines or journals that discuss social and popular issues related to your play. To choose one of the other databases in EBSCOhost, look for the blue tabs above the green bar on your EBSCOhost screen:
[tabs at the top]
To cite articles you find through MagillonLiterature Plus, use this MLA format. The Book Title below is the original source for each essay, like Masterplots II: Short Story Series, Critical Survey of Drama, etc. You'll find it on your article under Series. The city of publication for anything from Salem Press is Pasadena California.
Author's last name, first name. "Article title." Book title. City of publication: Publishing company,
date. Database. Database service provider. Library providing service, city of library. Access
date <Service provider's URL>.
(Example)
Ross, Diane. "Everyday Use." Masterplots II: Short Story Series. Pasadena: Salem Press, 1986.
MagillOnLiterature. EBSCOhost. Rose State Coll. Lib., Midwest City. 13 Sept. 2004
<http://ehostvgw20.epnet.com>.
Step Two -- Using Print Resources
Check to see if we've already done some of the research for you. Look at the list of Literary Authors to see if your author is listed. For example, Rappaccini's Daughter , is by Nathaniel Hawthorne, and he IS one of the authors listed. When you look at that list, you'll see that books by and about him are at the call number given at the top of the page. These are books you can check out, so if you want them, you'd have to come in to the library to get them.
You can also see that the author page lists lots of other resources about him. You don't necessarily need to look at all of them. For short stories, the ones you might start with are
REF PN 44 M33 Masterplots (if you haven't already used the MagillOnLiterature database. MasterPlots is the Print version, MagillOnLiterature is the electronic version of the same resource.)
REF PN 3321 C7 Critical Survey of Short Fiction .
REF PN 3321 S5 Short Story Criticism.
Critical Survey of Short Fiction is also an easy place to get quick information. This is a collection of essays about the work of individual authors, so you look for the volume corresponding to the author's last name. These essays analyze the author's work as a whole. There might be several paragraphs about the work you're considering, or there might be nothing specifically about your work. But don't despair if your author is there, but there's nothing about the play you're doing. You can still use the source, especially if there are themes or styles that are discussed in the essay that the author commonly uses, and you think that the author uses similar themes or styles in the work you're discussing. Connecting what the author does in one play or story with what she or he does in another play or story can lend weight and authority to your paper.
Step 3
Short Story Criticism is the third place to go for information. It is an excellent resource for you. If you learn to use Short Story Criticism, it will open the door to several other sources that are arranged just like Short Story Criticism . ( Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, etc. )
Short Story Criticism is not available online, so to use it, you'll have to come to the LRC. We get an additional volume of Short Story Criticism every few months, so most volumes have a cumulative index in the back. A cumulative index indexes the volume you have in your hand, plus all the volumes published before that one. So, to get the complete coverage, go to the last volume that has a cumulative index. There is more than one index (title index, author index, nationality index, etc.), so make sure you're in the right one. I'd suggest that you go to the Title Index first. Look up your title alphabetically (ignoring the "a", "an", or "the" if it's the first word).
[Finding A Raisin in the Sun in the Title Index]
The listing above says that A Raisin in the Sun is discussed in volume 2, pages 241-43, 246-247, etc. If your title is not listed in the title index, you can go to the Author Index, and find which other sources discuss your author. Here's the list of other Gale sources, and the abbreviations you'll find in the author index, and the call number for the ones the Rose State College Library has.
A Guide to Literary Series by Gale Research in the LRC Reference Area
(First Floor)
(We do NOT have the following series: AAYA, CABS, CDALB, CDBLB, DLBY, HW, MAICYA, MTCW, SAAS, SATA, WLC, and YABC. )
BLC REF PS153 N5 B556 Black Literature Criticism
BW REF PN490 B53 Black Writers
CA REF Z1224 C6 Contemporary Authors First Revision Volumes
CAAS REF PN453 C63 Contemporary Authors Autobiography Series
CANR REF Z1224 C65 Contemporary Authors New Revision Series
CAP REF Z1224 C59 Contemporary Authors Permanent Series
CLC REF PN771 C59 Contemporary Literary Criticism
CLR REF PN1009 A1 C5139 Children's Literature Review
(We only have volumes 1-3)
CMLC REF PN610 C5 Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism
DC REF PR625 D7 Drama Criticism
DLB REF PN466 L57 Dictionary of Literary Biography
DLBD REF PN466 L575 Dictionary of Literary Biography: Documentary Series
LC REF PN86 L53 Literature Criticism From 1400 to 1800
NCLC REF PN761 N5 Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
NNAL REF PS508 I5 N38 Native North American Literature
PC REF PR502 P6 Poetry Criticism
SSC REF PN3321 S5 Short Story Criticism
TCLC REF 771 T8 Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
The Short Story Criticism set (and in fact, most of the Gale Research sets) consists of a short introduction to the author being considered, and then a series of essays, excerpts from books, etc., critically examining the work of the author. Most of these essays appeared as articles in periodicals beginning from the time the author first published the work until the time the Gale volume was published. The Gale series are GREAT resources for your paper!
You do have to be careful when you cite from any of the Literary Criticism series. Below is an excerpt from Drama Criticism, with some highlighting that I've added to help bring the problem into focus:
[an essay from Drama Criticism]
The blue highlighted area tells you something about the person who is writing this particular essay. You can use this information to help introduce a quotation you might use from this essay, and you can also use it to help you evaluate what you read.
The yellow highlighted area at the bottom of the article gives you the information you'll use for your citation. You need to make sure you find this information for every essay/article that you use fromShort Story Criticism . The format of the citation is a bit tricky, because you're quoting from an article/essay that has been originally printed in a journal. You though, are not reading that journal, but the reprint of the article printed somewhere else...in this case, in Drama Criticism. (It could just as easily have been reprinted in Short Story Criticism. You'd use the same format for your citation.)
The MLA guide will give you examples of how these sources are cited. Here's the breakdown of the information you'll need:
[citation break down]
You get this information first, from the end of the article, and second, from the title page of the volume you're using.
Step 4 -- The Library Catalog: Finding Books
As you can see, there are lots of electronic (not necessarily "Internet") resources for literary criticism. Even with all that, you still may not find enough information for your essay or paper. That's where the library catalog comes in.
You'll find the RSC Catalog on the same online databases page that you found EBSCOhost and InfoTrac. After you click on Library Catalog, you'll see the following screen, where you will click onlocal catalog to search:
[Entry Screen for the library catalog. Click on Local Catalog to search.]
The default search in the catalog is by keyword. This is a good starting point if you don't know a specific subject heading, author, or title:
[The Basic search screen: type your search in the FIND box.]
If you're searching for books about a specific author, though, you DO know the subject heading---the author's name. By the way, when you're searching for books an author has written, you use an author search, but when you're looking for books about an author, you do a subject search. In the following example, we've searched for Hansberry as a subject heading. The sub headings can be really helpful. If you're specifically looking for criticism about Raisin in the Sun, then line #7 would be the most helpful resource.
[The results screen from a subject search. Click on the line # to find the titles.]
Once you click on line #7, you'll see the following screen.
[The display for line #7. You see that it's an electronic book.]
Click on the link to view the book:
[The netlibrary view of the book. Click View this eBook to view it.]
You can browse the book by the table of contents, page by page, or by using search terms. You can also print portions of it.
[The book in netlibrary. You can browse it by the table of contents, by the search box or page by page.]
This would be a good place to mention that all sources are not equally good. The NetLibrary book above is a Cliff Notes book, not something that is usually an acceptable source for essays in college and beyond. The Cliff Notes series is a summary or oveview type of resource. For your research, you'll need to go a little more in depth than Cliff Notes. Look at the books below. Those sources will both approach Lorraine Hansberry in more detail.
If you go back to the same subject search in the catalog (image 3 above), both line #3 and line #6 have titles of books in them that would be helpful for your research. Below are the title listings for line #3. You can see from this list not only the call number of each book, but also the floor that it's on, and whether or not the book is available to check out.
[A list of titles]
Finally, if you've checked out a book from the LRC, you can use the Patron Info screen or the Login screen to check the due date of your items. You may also renew them online. Books check out from the LRC with your student ID card for 3 weeks at a time. They may be renewed once.
Show Less
Embedding YouTube Video in PowerPoint
Of course, don't forget those great librarians. Call 405-733-7543 or email refdesk@rose.edu. The reference desk is located on the first floor of the Learning Resources Center.
Location: 1st floor, LRC
Have a question for a librarian?
